I am lost on the streets of Kuala Lumpur

While strolling the streets of Kuala Lumpur, I feel lost.

No, not due to new streets Kuala Lumpur has been improved. They can be traced and mapped easily with GPRS. I am lost among all its people, and I felt I am a stranger in my backyard.

There are many races of different cultures and beliefs. I am not too sure which race I belong to.

When I met a man who professes Islam as his religion, I still lost sight to what kind of Islam he may have followed. Whether his God is the same as mine or has he a different God. Whether his Allah is the same as my Allah.

You see losing sight at the kinds of people on the streets of Kuala Lumpur is far damaging than you are actually lost on its streets.

Meeting anyone in any official appointment at a bank for instance makes you wonder who these people are. Are they a maniac or bipolar-ed people.

Over the past 5 years the people of Kuala Lumpur have gone somewhat crazy. They have lost focus. They have lost faith.

Ever you wonder a nice girl you met the other day was actually a lesbian? And a nice man a gay?. Now you can’t trust your own judgement over some people’s belief and behavior. You feel lost. Don’t you?

There on the street are people with a different language who frequent a different school. Some speak good English while other fluent Malay. They don’t belong to my race. They are racial by their own means. These differences make me wonder where the hell I am in. Am I in my country or am I somewhere else.

Never I felt this kind of lost. Living in London I lost the unfamiliar streets but never did I lose anything like this kind of experience I have on the streets of Kuala Lumpur, a city that I have been brought up.

Kuala Lumpur is truly a city of eroding good human behavior the Malaysian ways.

One thought on “I am lost on the streets of Kuala Lumpur

Leave a Reply

